Skeptic Project

Your #1 COINTELPRO cognitive infiltration source.

Page By Category

Forum - Interesting thing about banking/money/fiat currency.

[ Add Tags ]

[ Return to History | Reply to Topic ]
MuertosPosted: Nov 29, 2010 - 20:43
(1)

Paid Disinformation Blogger

Level: 14
CS Original

Some of you may know I'm doing my master's program in U.S. history, specifically the history of the early republic.

I found this today in a book called "The Market Revolution," by Charles Sellers, regarding early banks (circa 1815):

Banks' contribution to the takeoff of a capital-hungry economy can hardly be exaggerated. most obviously, they pooled the limited capital available to it could be rationally allocated to the most productive purposes. But banks did much more. For the first time they provided, in place of chronically fugitive gold and silver coin, an ample circulating medium that made possible a new standard of punctuality in meeting business obligations. If banks did not, according to classical theory, actually increase the amount of real capital, they did increase the velocity with which money flowed from hadn to hand and widen capital's availability.

Banks did all this by transcending the innocence of an age that regarded only gold and silver coin as real money. Only such 'specie,' guaranteed by its magical aura and inherent commodity value as a precious metal, was 'legal tender' that a creditor had to accept in discharge of debt. Theoretically banks raised their capital by selling stock for specie and made their handsome profits by lending at interest the capital thus raised. Actually, instead of lending borrowers coin, they lent bank notes, or engraved certificates in varying denominations carrying a promise that the issuing bank would redeem them in specie upon demand at its counter.